LegalFirms.in
LegalFirms.in Judgments · legalfirms.in/judgments/mrs-bhumikaben-n-modi-ors-vs-life-insurance-corporation-of-india-20240508/ · Printed 07 Nov 2026
Civil · Reportable judgment

Mrs. Bhumikaben N. Modi & Ors. vs Life Insurance Corporation of India

Court
Supreme Court of India
Date
8 May 2024
Case No.
Civil Appeal No.270 of 2012
Result
Allowed
Bench
A.S. Bopanna, C.T. Ravikumar
Citation
[2024] 6 S.C.R. 452 : 2024 INSC 395
Acts & Sections
Consumer Protection Act, 1986 Life Insurance Corporation Act, 1956
Supreme Court Reports [2024] 6 S.C.R. 452 : 2024 INSC 395
Issue for consideration
Whether the issuance of Acceptance-cum-First Premium Receipt gave rise to a presumption of acceptance of the policy by the insurer; whether the NCDRC was justified in dismissing the appellants’ complaint and reversing the concurrent orders of the forums below, in exercise of its revisional jurisdiction, wherein directions were issued for payment of benefits in terms of the subject life insurance policy and for grant of compensation.
Headnote

Consumer Protection Act, 1986 – s.21(b) – Revisional power – Insurance – Life Insurance Policy – Deceased submitted proposal for Life Insurance Policy on 06.07.1996 – Issued cheque towards premium on 09.07.1996 – Met with an accidental death on 14.07.1996 – Appellants (widow and children of deceased) claimed benefits based on Insurance Policy – Claim repudiated by respondent primarily contending that the proposal form was accepted only on 15.07.1996 whereas the death of the deceased was on 14.07.1996 and therefore, there was no concluded contract as mere preparation of the policy document is not acceptance so as to create a concluded contract – District Forum allowed the complaint filed by appellants – Appeal thereagainst dismissed by State Commission – In revision, NCDRC reversed the said orders of the forums below and dismissed the complaint – Sustainability: Held: It is the case of the appellants that the first premium was accepted and a duly signed receipt (Acceptance-cum-First Premium Receipt-Annexure B) therefor was issued by the respondent on 09.07.1996 – The factum of receipt of cheque amount cannot be disputed by the respondent – The cheque amount was received prior to the death of ‘the deceased’ is also not in dispute – In Annexure B, it is specifically stated that the acceptance of payment would place the insurer on risk with effect from the date of the said Acceptance-cum-First Premium Receipt, subject to the realization of the amount in cash and the terms and conditions of acceptance printed overleaf – What is printed overleaf is not on record as the same was not produced – The circumstances justify the conclusion of acceptance of the proposal prior to the death of ‘the deceased’ – Annexure B would justify drawing of presumption of acceptance of the policy and not otherwise – Thus, in view of the entire circumstances based on the documents in the orders of the District Forum and the State Commission, in the light of the decision in D. Srinivas’s case, the proposal was accepted – No material irregularity or illegality in the conclusions drawn with regard to the acceptance of proposal by the District Forum confirmed by the State Commission with reasons – In the absence of anything suggesting that the State Commission acted in the exercise of its jurisdiction illegally or with material irregularity, interference with an order of the State Commission confirming the order of the District Forum, in exercise of the limited revisional power u/s.21 (b), by NCDRC, is unsustainable – Impugned order set aside and that of the District Forum which was confirmed by the State Commission,is restored. [Paras 19, 23, 24-27, 29]

Read the full headnote (4 more paragraphs)

Consumer Protection Act, 1986 – s.21(b) – Revisional power – Despite reversing the concurrent orders of the forums below in revision and thus, dismissing the appellants’ complaint seeking benefits in terms of the subject policy, NCDRC directed for payment of ex-gratia taking note of the offer made by the respondent to the appellant:

Held: Powers u/s.21(a) and (b) are different and distinct – Powers u/s.21 (b) is very limited – Further, ex gratia is an act of gratis and has no connection with the liability, payable as a legal duty – Also, such an offer was made by the Respondent much earlier even before the matter reached the District Forum, but the appellant had denied to accept such an offer – The impugned order virtually partakes the character of an order modifying the order of the District Forum which was confirmed by the State Commission – No justification for NCDRC to upturn the concurrent orders and to order for the dismissal of the complaint and at the same time issue a direction only to grant Rs.1 lakh as ex gratia merely because such an offer was made by the respondent-insurer in the memorandum of the revision petition – There cannot be any doubt with respect to the position that in the absence of anything suggesting that the State Commission had acted in the exercise of its jurisdiction illegally or with material irregularity, interference with an order of the State Commission confirming the order of the District Forum, in exercise of the limited revisional power under Section 21 (b) of the Act, by NCDRC, is without rhyme or reason and cannot be sustained. [Paras 10, 11, 27]

Practice and Procedure – Decision of the Supreme Court, applicable to all cases irrespective of the stage of pendency thereof:

Held: Normally, the decision of the Supreme Court enunciating a principle of law is applicable to all cases irrespective of the stage of pendency thereof because it is assumed that what is enunciated by the Supreme Court is, in fact, the law from inception. [Para 16] Words and Phrases – “ex gratia” – Discussed.

Keywords: Insurance · Life Insurance Policy · Proposal form · Accidental death · District Forum · State Commission · Acceptance of the policy by insurer · Revisional jurisdiction · Compensation · Cheque towards premium · Repudiation of claim · Premium accepted · Duly signed receipt · Acceptance-cum-First Premium Receipt · Cheque amount received prior to the death of deceased · Acceptance of the proposal prior to the death of deceased · Concluded contract · “ex gratia”

As published in the Supreme Court Reports, Supreme Court of India. Headnotes prepared by: Divya Pandey. Text from the Indian Supreme Court Judgments open data set (Dattam Labs), CC BY 4.0.

Full Judgment Text

Judgment C.T. Ravikumar, J. 1. The appellants herein were the respondents before the National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, New Delhi (for short ‘the NCDRC’). As per the impugned order, the NCDRC allowed revision petition No. 3384 of 2006 filed by the Life Insurance Corporation of India, the respondent herein and reversed the concurrent orders of the forums below passed in favour of the appellants herein and dismissed their complaint that culminated in a direction in their favour for grant of compensation. 2. Succinctly stated, the facts that led to the captioned appeal, are as fo
Full text available to subscribers
Subscribe to access complete judgment text, daily digests, and AI-powered legal research tools. For informational and research purposes only.
View Subscription Plans →
Annual plans from ₹1,599 + GST.

This page is for informational and research purposes only and does not constitute legal advice. Consult a qualified advocate for advice specific to your situation.

All SC judgments →